Pura Vida

I don’t even know where to start with this post because there is no way to describe how amazing that trip was. It’s hard to describe why, though. It was pretty similar to every other trip we’ve taken to Costa Rica, but is was also so much different- I think because of my mindset after being cooped up at a desk for hours on end everyday. I think I was finally able to REALLY appreciate a vacation, and REALLY take advantage of the time I have been blessed with in Costa Rica.

Every morning when I woke up, I almost sighed a sense of relief that I didn’t have to go to work. Every morning, I thought about how lucky I was to be in a bed overlooking the ocean instead of in a cubicle slumped over a computer. Every morning I was able to realize how lucky I truly am to have such an amazing family and be given these amazing opportunities. What did I do to deserve this? I decided to take full advantage of being there and not waste a minute. We went for long runs on the beach early in the morning, enjoyed healthy breakfasts on the back deck, went surfing for hours on end, relaxed, took pictures, and simply enjoyed each others company.

I really, really didn’t want to leave. I say it at the end of every trip, but I couldn’t have meant it more this time. Although I LOVE my life here in Hoboken, I couldn’t help but dread leaving the amazing beaches and wildlife of Costa Rica to return to an empty cubicle in a cold city where everyone is in a rush.

I already miss Costa Rica but I know we’ll be back soon, and it’s time to get back to reality. It’s been kind of tough adjusting but I know it’s part of life and I’m the luckiest girl in the world to even have these experiences.  My dad said “That’s the price you pay for going on vacations- having to come home and adjust to the real world again!” And all I’m thinking is… when is my next day off?!

1e951ef24ec211e2948222000a1f9307_7 9f949b804dd311e28ed122000a9f1311_7 62f0ce544c9011e2bb0922000a1fbf4a_7 a1cace22520d11e29b7122000a1f9a64_7 a9e7a09c513311e2999e22000a1f8afc_7 affa9da64d5811e2815722000a1fa518_7

Leave a Reply

