Brand of the Week- Toms Shoes

summer '12, huntington beach pier
summer ’12, huntington beach pier

If you know anything about me, you know I’m a huge fan of Toms. I love everything about the company- the fact that they’re philanthropic and that they happen to make the most comfortable, coolest shoes. Ever since I discovered the brand years ago, I’ve had this dream to work for Toms. I think it would be one of those amazing work environments where creativity and awesome people are aplenty. Knowing that my work would eventually turn into a pair of shoes for a needy child would make me work harder- I know it.

In college, I did two huge projects on Toms, one in my Advertising class and one in my International Marketing class- I just really loved learning about how the founder, Blake Mycoskie, became such a huge success with such a simple idea. For my birthday that year, my dad got me his book, Start Something That Matters. It was inspirational and made me realize that working for a greater good is something I want to do in the future, whether it be for Toms or not.

Start Something That Matters is now not only just the name of Mycoskie’s book- it’s a movement. “The Start Something That Matters Foundation has committed to a fund that will be used to help launch the ideas of social entrepreneurs and students.”

Screen Shot 2013-03-05 at 9.22.09 AM

The company is one that’s as awesome on the outside as it is on the inside. For each pair of Toms shoes purchased, a pair is donated to a child in need in a poverty stricken country. I have 6 pairs of Toms, meaning I truly helped the lives and health of 6 little children, which is cool to know. They started with one simple design in 2006 and have grown today into a brand that sells multiple kinda of shoes including wedges and sneakers- and even is expanding into the sunglasses industry!

I would recommend a pair of Toms to anyone- and did when I worked at a local girls surf style shop one summer in college. I made sure everyone knew the back story and raved about how comfortable they truly are… I sold quite a few Toms that summer.

Here are some of my favorite current styles by Toms 🙂

Screen Shot 2013-03-05 at 9.31.12 AM Screen Shot 2013-03-05 at 9.31.47 AM Screen Shot 2013-03-05 at 9.32.19 AM Screen Shot 2013-03-05 at 9.32.30 AM Screen Shot 2013-03-05 at 9.32.51 AM Screen Shot 2013-03-05 at 9.33.51 AM

Leave a Reply

