Asian Beef Cucumber Bowls

photod

For dinner last night, I tried another recipe from pgfingers.com, Asian Beef Cucumber Bowl.

When I saw this recipe I thought it was weird and different which is why I wanted to try it. I’ve been trying to expand my cooking sphere (if that’s a thing) and make new things. This recipe was super simple and I had everything already in the house for it, except for hoisin sauce which is something I found out I’m seriously missing out on- it’s delicious.

Here’s the recipe:

Ingredients

  • 1 lb. lean ground beef
  • 3/4 large onion, chopped
  • 2 tbsp. hoisin sauce
  • 2 tbsp. rice vinegar
  • 2 tbsp. light soy sauce
  • 1 extra large cucumber

Directions

  • Sautee onion in a pan sprayed with cooking spray until tender
  • Add beef and brown
  • Add hoisin sauce, rice vinegar, and soy sauce and let simmer for approximately 5 minutes
  • Slice cucumber
  • Top cucumber slices with beef mixture and enjoy!

I love dishes that have a good combination of crunchy and mushy and salty and sweet. The hoisin sauce added a little sweetness and the cucumbers added a cool crunch to go along with the beef.

I loved it. Kc didn’t love it. In his words “it wasn’t my favorite but it wasn’t my least favorite.” I don’t think he liked the idea of cold cucumbers with hot beef… and also the fat from the beef that I wasn’t able to drain congealed a bit onto the cucumbers which was weird. Next time I’ll make sure to get beef with lower fat or even turkey ground beef.

photo

photoe

photod

Leave a Reply

