Spring To-Do List- Hoboken/NYC

1. Explore Brooklyn.

I’ve never been to Brooklyn- whenever I tell people that (especially people at work), they all look at me as if I had 9 heads. Many of my co-workers live in Brooklyn, and can rave about it for hours. Most of them have lived in Manhattan and now live in either Cobble Hill or Williamsburg, which seem like really great places. I’ve heard the parks there are beautiful, the shopping is unique, and the bars are aplenty.

brooklynbridge6

2. Go to Museums.

New York City it completely full of culture, something I know I need to start taking advantage of. there are S) many different museums, and I’d really like to check a few off my list this spring, including the GuggenheimMuseum of Modern Art (even though I’ve been there twice, they always change up their exhibits), and American Museum of Natural History. Kcs aunt & uncle have free passes to basically every museum in the city- so that’s also a plus.

Screen Shot 2013-03-11 at 4.46.49 PM

3. Explore Central Park.

We’ve been to central park quite a few times, but for some reason stay in the Southeast corner because that’s where the “big rock” is. I want to explore all of Central Park, from top to bottom. Something I really want to do is go for a run aroud Central Park- now that I know the easiest way to get there via Path & Subway from Hoboken, that’s something I know I’ll be doing.

central-park1

4. Brush up on my golfing skills (or lack-thereof)

I seriously stink at golf. It’s something I want to get better at because I feel like it’s one of those sports you can play your whole life. Kc loves playing, so going to the driving range or playing a small round of golf would be something fun to do together.

Screen Shot 2013-03-11 at 4.57.50 PM

5. Run outside.

Hoboken is such a great city to go for a nice long run. The views are beautiful and the path along the water is safe and convenient. When the temps get warmer, I plan to run outside as much as possible. I miss running on the boardwalk during the summer, so the next best thing will have to do.

7470902188_98c02c2352_z

6. Check out farmers markets.

The spring season in the city means tons of farmers markets.  I love the idea of getting locally grown produce and cooking with super fresh vegetables whenever possible. I especially want to check out Union Square Greenmarket- I heard that was a good one.

ny169

7. Go to a Comedy Show or two.

In the spirit of taking advantage of all that New York City has to offer, I’d love to check out some stand-up comedy. The city has tons of comedy venues with various big name and lesser-known comedians. I heard Gotham Comedy Club is a great one, as well as The Comedy Cellar and Stand Up NY.

Screen Shot 2013-03-12 at 9.46.04 AM

2 thoughts on “Spring To-Do List- Hoboken/NYC

  1. Great list! I can’t wait for warmer weather.

    I went for my first outdoor run since Hurricane Sandy up the Hoboken waterfront toward Edgewater and was really sad to see parks and walkways closed. Can’t complain though, just a bit less scenic.

    For comedy, Gotham books good people but the atmosphere and the food leave much to be desired. For a grungier experience, I recommend Upright Citizens Brigade Theater, which now has an East Village theater in addition to their spot in Chelsea. It’s improv, so its more spontaneous and less polished but fun nonetheless. ASSSCAT 3000 is their most popular show and they sometimes have former SNL cast members participate.

Leave a Reply

