Sunny Saturday

On Saturday, I woke up at 7:30am to a beautiful day with absolutely nothing to do. I’d love to know why on days I have to be at work, I have a hard time waking up, but on weekends  I’m happily up at the crack of dawn. Anyway- I didn’t want to wake Kc so I quietly snuck out to the gym for a little until it was a reasonable time to wake him.

We are usually so busy on weekends- we’re rarely have a free weekend at home. We wanted to make the most of the fact that it was sunny and 50 degrees- so we decided to go into the city. We started by being tourists in Times Square, followed by a walk to The Plaza for lunch. In the basement of the Plaza, there is a restaurant called Todd English’s Food Hall and it’s proven to be our favorite spot in the city. There are so many different options in terms of food- there is a raw bar, a sushi bar, a BBQ area, a burger grille, a salad area… the list goes on. You get seated as you would in a traditional restaurant, but the multiple kitchens are open so you can see everything going on.

23PLAZA_SPAN-articleLarge

We started with shrimp dumplings and a round of beers.

IMG_7599For lunch Kc got a kobe beef burger which I couldn’t help but have a few bites of… amazing. I opted for a healthier option… a Kale salad with procuitto, butternut squash, figs, and a side of salmon. I can honestly say it was the best salad I’ve ever had. It was fresh and flavorful and I’ll definitely be going back for more.

IMG_7602

After lunch, we walked around the outside food hall area, where the desserts are located. There’s a cake bar, a frozen yogurt station, and a macaroon shop. I got a raspberry lychee macaroon and Kc got a salted carmel macaroon. The taste totally brought me back to Paris.

IMG_7606

Afterwards we walked across the street to Central Park, where we found our favorite spot; Big Rock.

We sat in the sun and enjoyed the view along with the other thousand people that had the same idea we had.


IMG_7697

979e16a8890c11e2aae322000a1f9858_7

We had a really fun day. It’s always great to be reminded of how close we are to New York City. I know that when warmer weather arrives, we’ll be doing this quite a lot.

IMG_7698
view from “big rock”
One thought on “Sunny Saturday

Leave a Reply

