Packaging Design

For whatever reason, I’ve been finding more and more interest in graphic design- particularly typography and packaging design. One of my best friends from high school is a packaging design major and I’m totally blown away by her work. I learned about it a bit in college in my Marketing and Advertising classes, but never actually realized I pay attention to it until more recently.  I think it’s so interesting to think about all that goes into one product, from start to finish. Packaging is such a vital part of the process… it’s really a main factor in what get’s people to buy things. I know that I can honestly say that I judge a book by it’s cover when shopping for a variety of items… especially food and drink items.

When a food or drink that I’ve never tried before pops out at me, I’m always down to try it. It’s almost my way of giving the company credit for making attractive packaging… as the consumer I feel like I’ve helped a bit in helping the company meet their bottom line- more sales.

I recently saw a product that intrigued me for more reasons than one… Kombucha Wonder Drink. The beverage first got me with it’s unique, modern design. I know it’s not anything mind blowing, but it really stood out to me.

Screen Shot 2013-03-12 at 2.34.02 PM

Screen Shot 2013-03-12 at 2.22.28 PM
mini wonder

I then read about the benefits of kombucha , bought the flavor I think sounded best (asian pear and ginger), and ended up loving the taste and effects. My mom has been a fan of drinks like this for a while, so it wasn’t a totally foreign concept, but I had yet to try them myself. The drink gave me a little boost of energy and I can honestly say improved mental clarity. Ever since I tried it a few weeks ago, I’ve been getting one a few times a week- I’m a fan, thanks to the man or woman who designed these bottles 🙂

They also have really cute 4-pack holders!

Screen Shot 2013-03-12 at 2.22.35 PM

They have some good competition in the kombucha industry… Reed’s new line is equally as awesome.

ReedsKombucha_Feature

Here are some of my other favorite packaging designs (that have turned me into a fan):

Chobani Bite- Smaller versions of their popular greek yogurt. I love the name of the product and the simplicity of the picture of the fruit on the white background.

Screen Shot 2013-03-12 at 2.40.03 PM

Method housekeeping products– They don’t test their products on animals, and they want you to know it. I think it’s fun and super cute- qualities you wouldn’t expect to find in a dish soap.

Screen Shot 2013-03-12 at 2.48.36 PM

Tessemae’s Dressings: I may be giving this company an extra advantage because I know the family that created/stared it, but I think they’re packaging is awesome. The logo itself is great… combining the T for Tessemae’s and an anchor (they’re from the boating town of Annapolis, Maryland). Sidenote: I highly recommend this dressing/marinade.. it’s seriously delicious and super healthy.

DSCN0551

Tazo’s new redesigned packaging… much better than the original. I found an article about the re-branding from a popular packaging design blog, The Dieline.

tazo_05_packaging_instagram

Tokyo Milk: I’ve loved these products for years. I got one a perfume as a gift and keep buying Tokyo Milk products not only because of the quality, but because they’re so pretty to display. (My favorite is Dead Sexy).

Screen Shot 2013-03-12 at 3.09.28 PM

They just came out with a new line called “Dark,” which seems equally as great. I haven’t tried it yet, but I’m pretty obsessed with the packaging.

tokyo-milk-dark-homewerx-lip-parfum

Another company I’m partial to, Waxing Kara- You must yourself to some amazing honey from the Eastern Shore of Maryland… and maybe a few honey lollipops. Everything this small brand has to offer is awesome; something I can say it with confidence because I’ve tried it all. The packaging only reflects the product- lovely and super special.

Screen Shot 2013-03-12 at 3.43.02 PM

Charlie’s Honest Quencher– fun and playful, what lemonade should be about.

tumblr_ltgvhaPeFZ1qaobnfo1_500

If I could, I think it’s something I’d love to do as a career, but I know it’s super hard and requires a lot of skill and talent. It combines design and marketing- two areas I’ve had exposure to through internships, schooling, and work. I am torn between marketing and graphic design when it comes to my career- Do I continue in the business side of marketing (what I went to school for), or do I dive deeper into the world of graphic design. I think packaging design would incorporate both ideas (obviously more graphic design)… but my knowledge in the business side of things would only help me. Hm.

2 thoughts on “Packaging Design

  1. I never heard of kombucha before. Great article though, marketing always interested me, sometimes I wish I chose that as a major!

Leave a Reply

