Crock-Pot Veggie Soup

Last year, I made crock-pot veggie soup that lasted for a whole week and was as healthy as it was delicious.  I’ve been wanting to make it again all winter, but haven’t had time to do it. It requires chopping a ton of veggies and waiting 8 hours while it slow cooks, but it’s completely worth it.

I made it this weekend, so I’m going to be eating soup every day for the next year. Okay- maybe not for the next year, but definitely for the next week. I used Budget Savvy Diva’s recipe, but made it my own.

Instead of using black beans, I used great northern beans and chick peas. I added zucchini and squash, as well as dill (I love the flavor of dill). I also decided not to add potatoes, trying to make it as healthy as possible.

9e621fd28f1211e28e7522000a1fbe50_7

Here’s my doctored version of the recipe:

What You Need

2 (14 ounce) cans diced tomatoes (undrained)

1 large onion (chopped)

4 garlic cloves (pressed)

2 tablespoons olive oil (divided)

2 large carrots (chopped)

2 zucchini

1 squash

1/2 Teaspoon of Garlic Powder

1/2 Teaspoon of Onion Powder

2 small celery ribs (chopped)

1 can of chick peas

1 can of great northern beans

2 cups green beans (cut in 1-inch pieces)

6 cups chicken broth (or vegetable broth)

¼ head cabbage (chopped)

pinch of salt

1 teaspoon of pepper

Parmesan Cheese ( garnish)

imaget

What To Do

Heat 1 tablespoon of oil in a skillet and add onion – cook till tender ( 8 minutes) then add garlic and cook for one minute.

Add rest of vegetables to the skillet ( also add all seasoning at this time)  except ( tomatoes and  beans) + drizzle 1 tablespoon of oil.

Cook for about 5 minutes – this step REALLY helps enhance the flavor.

Add veggies, tomatoes, black beans, and broth into the crock pot
Cook on low for 7- 8 hours. Garnish with cheese if you like
Enjoy :)

image3

image

It turned out really well- I had it for lunch today and everyone was asking what smelled so good!

I packaged them in Tupperware for the rest of the week, so they’ll have to get used to it 🙂

image1

One thought on “Crock-Pot Veggie Soup

  1. This is a comment to the admin. I came to your “Crock-Pot Veggie Soup | 1st & Bloom” page via Google but it was hard to find as you were not on the first page of search results. I know you could have more traffic to your website. I have found a website which offers to dramatically increase your rankings and traffic to your site: http://nsru.net/zaj5 I managed to get close to 1000 visitors/day using their services, you could also get lot more targeted traffic from search engines than you have now. Their service brought significantly more visitors to my website. I hope this helps, happy new year!

Leave a Reply

