Me, Myself, and I

On Saturday, I woke up and had nothing to do and no one to hang out with. Kc and his brother were golfing on Long Island, and most of my friends were home for Easter weekend or busy with other things. This quickly turned from a negative thing into a positive thing. At first I was like “what the heck am I going to do today” … then I thought about the endless possibilities was like “what am I NOT going to do today.”

It was BEAUTIFUL outside and the city was just screaming my name.  I got out of bed, made some breakfast, got a good work-out in, and headed into the city for a day of fun with me, myself, and I.

I walked to SoHo, one of my favorite areas in the city. It has really really great shopping, people watching, and is not too crowded with tourists or street vendors. I started on walking down Spring Street toward Broadway, and had to stop at two of my favorite stores, Free People and Splendid- which both had really cute/fun spring clothes. I got a cute pair of spring jeans at Free People that I can’t wait to wear.

Screen Shot 2013-04-01 at 11.50.13 AM

On my way to my next stop (Bloomingdales), I found myself stopped at an unconventional street vendor… woman slicing up fresh mango. They were cutting up mangos and putting them in a ziplock bag, sprinkling them with a little bit of salt, lime juice, and some seasoning (I didn’t get the name of the seasoning and I’m SO mad I didn’t because it was SO good).  It was seriously the freshest mango I’ve had in a while- the combination of the sweet and salty was the perfect mid-morning snack.

photo

When I finally got to Bloomies, I was excited to try on dresses for my aunts wedding which is in a few weeks. I was so overwhelmed by the amount of amazing dresses I found- I think I had 8 in my dressing room and I like them ALL, which rarely happens to me. I narrowed it down to two dresses, and am still deciding (opinions, please)!

The one on the left is French Connection and the one on the right is BCBG.

photot

After spending over an hour trying on dresses, I was overheated and needed a cold drink and something more to eat. I didn’t want to sit somewhere alone, so I went the cafe inside Bloomies called  Forty Carrots and ordered a lychee tea and gummy bears to go (quality lunch, I know). 😉

phototy

I walked around SoHo for another hour or so, mostly just window shopping and trying to find some cute spring clothes for work, with not much luck. I did get myself a pair of fun pink shoes in the Converse store which was so huge and impressive… I swear they make it hard to walk out without a pair.

converse-soho-store-0
converse american flag

I think it’s important to hang out with yourself everyone once in a while. I don’t mean just sit in bed and watch T.V. – I mean actually get out and do something alone that you would otherwise do with a friend.

It’s a good time to self-reflect and see what kind of person you are to be with.

My day only confirmed that I’m super indecisive, rather unorganized, but all in all I’m pretty fun. I actually had a great day with myself.

I was able to go where I wanted, eat what I wanted, stay places as long or short as I wanted,  and stop and take pictures whenever I wanted. I probably wouldn’t have gotten the bubble picture (below), if I was with a friend. I stopped, put my bags down, and spent a few minutes taking pictures and watching people’s reaction to the bubbled that filled the air. Props to the man making them all day… watching little kids walk through them and giggle endlessly was the highlight of my day.

photou

One thought on “Me, Myself, and I

Leave a Reply

