Be Nice to People

Be nice to people (shorter)

This morning, I was in Dunkin Donuts getting a coffee when something happened that seriously made me mad. An employee was mopping the floor; it looked as though someone had just spilled some of his or her coffee. A business man stopped, looked at her and yelled “COME ON, the floor is all wet and you’re in my way… you picked a really bad time to mop, it’s the peak of the morning rush hour!”  Everyone in line looked at him and her – it was awkward and silent. The woman looked super embarrassed, didn’t say anything and quickly ran into the back room.

This guy clearly just ruined her morning, quite possibly her day, because he had to make a few extra steps and go around her and needed to make it known that he was not happy about it. She was simply doing her job.

I don’t understand why some people treat others with so much disrespect. Whatever prompted guy to yell at that woman clearly came from other problems in his life- there was no need to take it out on her.

I realized I see things like this happen way too often… people putting down other people when they really don’t deserve it. When we were young, we were taught to treat people the way you want to be treated. I truly don’t think that sticks with many of us as we grow older. We get caught up in our own lives, always in a rush, never stopping to appreciate the people that are in our lives everyday, like the woman who was mopping the floor.

 

I do believe in Karma, but I think instances like this is when Internal Karma kicks in. The guy who got all hot and bothered this morning might feel bad right now, but there’s nothing he can do about the fact he ruined someone else’s day.  He’s probably having a bad day now, too.

Screen Shot 2013-04-11 at 1.45.15 PM

Next time you order a coffee, thank the person making it and tell them you really appreciate them helping to wake you up every morning. This will make them smile, which will make you happy. Happy is good. If you yell at them because they used whole milk instead of skim milk, they’ll be sad, and you’ll be sad too Sad is bad.

 

It’s simple, really. I don’t know why some people just don’t get it.

Screen Shot 2013-04-11 at 1.43.49 PM

That is all. Thank you for listening to my rant. Have a wonderful day.

6 thoughts on “Be Nice to People

  1. Do you mind if I quote a few of your posts as long as I provide
    credit and sources back to your website? My website is in the very same
    niche as yours and my visitors would definitely benefit from some of
    the information you provide here. Please let me know if this ok with you.

    Appreciate it!

  2. After looking at a few of the blog posts on your website, I really like your technique of blogging. I book marked it to my bookmark site list and will be checking back soon. Please visit my website too and let me know how you feel.

Leave a Reply

