Travel Essentials

I think one things everyone can agree on is that packing and unpacking (especially unpacking) are on the high end of torturous tasks when it comes to first world problems. I used to seriously lack packing skills- I’d overpack on weekend trips and under-pack on two week vacations abroad; always forgetting something. Over the years, I will admit I’ve gotten way better at it (my dad even applauded my packing skills on our trip to Italy- not an easy feat).  After years of learning from packing fails, I think I am finally able to say I am now a semi-pro and my years of forgetting underwear is behind me (no pun intended).

I keep a list for myself of things I NEED when going anywhere overnight and this eliminates serious inconveniences… my glasses, extra pair of contacts, contact solution and case, any medication/prescriptions, make-up bag, make-up remover, phone charger, headphones, comfy zip-up or sweater, lightweight scarf (doubles as a blanket), undergarments, plain tanks or t-shirts, plain bandeau, comfy pair of jeans, and plain yoga pants.

Some packing tips:

-Plan outfits out beforehand- don’t just pack a bunch of random tops, bottoms, shoes, and accessories. You can have tons of stuff with you but it won’t matter if none of them go well together.

Firefly, 2013
Firefly, 2013

-Pack more bras, socks, and underwear then you think you’ll need. Pack a nude regular bra, strapless bra and bandeau and a black regular bra, strapless bra, and bandeau. It’s hard to plan exactly what each outfit/top needs under it so being prepared with options is always good. Plus, those things don’t take up a lot of room.

-You’ll never wear all of the shoes you bring- eliminate 1/3 of them. Bring your comfiest pair of heels, comfiest flip flips or boots, and a pair of Toms or Converse and sneakers if you plan to exercise.

Screen Shot 2013-08-14 at 11.15.19 AM
California, 2012

-Hats and headbands- for bad hair days, hot days, beach days.

Screen Shot 2013-08-14 at 11.19.51 AM
Italy, 2013

-Oversized T-shirt and sweats is always good to come back to after a long day.

Costa Rica, 2012
Costa Rica, 2012

-I always bring a plain black button up sweater and a jean button up- no matter where I’m going or what season it is. Restaurants get cold and one of those things are bound to match with any outfit.

Cali, 2012
Cali, 2012

-Lightweight scarfs are a travel essential in my opinion. They can dress up an outfit, add some color to a look, keep you warm, and double as a blanket to either wrap yourself in or sit on at the beach. Five functions in one.

Italy, 2013
Italy, 2013

-Bring a mini steamer…. so worth it. In minutes you can get all of the wrinkles out of all your packed clothes.

-Roll your clothes when you pack. Clothes don’t take up as much space that way.

-Pack neutral things that go with everything. Black tank, white tank, black t-shirt, white t-shirt, plain black skirt, jean shorts, jeans, black sweater, jean button up… Although boring, you have like 10 different outfits right there.

-Get an eye mask. I’ve found they really help me sleep while traveling, especially on planes. On vacation, there are mornings that I want to sleep in, so I wear an eye mask if I want to avoid being woken up by the sunlight.

-Neck pillows are the only way I can sleep on a plane or in the car, so I’d call that a travel essential. The ones that blow up are great because they don’t take up much space when you aren’t using them.

Leave a Reply

