Smorgasburg- DUMBO

Last Sunday, KC and I ventured over to Brooklyn to check out Smorgasburg. Let me start off by saying that I think it was made for me; or at least with someone like me in mind. I loved everything about it… although I think it would be hard for someone not to. It’s essentially a food festival that occurs every weekend in the summer through the fall; on Saturdays in Williamsburg and on Sundays in DUMBO (a.k.a. down under the Manhattan Brooklyn overpass).

bfd

1

We started by taking the PATH train from Hoboken to World Trade Center. From there, we walked to the east, making our way to the Brooklyn Bridge. I had never walked over the Brooklyn Bridge before Sunday, and I’m still in awe of the experience. I don’t know why I thought it was SO cool, but it just was. The views are incredible and just the idea of walking from Manhattan to Brooklyn over the river was exciting to me.

Screen Shot 2013-09-13 at 1.34.33 PM

Once we got into Brooklyn, we just walked to the area under the bridge to find Smorgasurg. There were about 50 (total guess) vendors with tables/tents set up in a confined area, which happened to be right next to the Brooklyn Bridge Park (which was a beautiful area- exploring more of DUMBO is for sure on my Fall to-do-list).

Some of the vendors were offering typical foods… but most of them were seriously unique. I saw so many things I had never even heard of before- maple bacon sticks, pie shakes (they literally put pieces of PIE in a BLENDER), beet lemonade (which I had and loved), crazy flavored doughnuts, bacon cheddar cornbread… just to name a few. Choosing what to fill up on proved harder than choosing what college to go to… WAY too many mouth-watering selections.

We were pretty hungry when we arrived, so we got right to it. We started with a taco from Takumi Taco, which were really, really good.

taco

Next, we split this reaaaally interesting (but good) coconut rice. It was cold rice made with coconut milk and chunks of mango. It was surprisingly refreshing, but it was also very filling.
rice

Cornbread is one of Kc’s favorite food, so he was pretty excited to try the bacon and cheddar cornbread from Jack’s Chedbred. I skipped on that one and went for a single oyster from Brooklyn Oyster Party, which was really good- I would have gotten a few more  if not for the almost $4  per oyster price tag.

Screen Shot 2013-09-13 at 2.33.13 PM

oys

Then, we moved onto the main course, Brisket and pulled pork sandwiches. I wish I remembered the name of this place because these were unreal… literally some of the best BBQ I’ve ever had. The brisket was cooked perfectly, the sauce was so tasty, and the pickles on the top made the perfect addition.

yum

We found a spot in Brooklyn Bridge park and ate before we laid in the grass for a while. I could have laid there forever… partly because I was really full at that point and really could have used a nap, but mostly because it was just beautiful outside.

yum2

gre

If you know anything about us, you probably could have guessed that got dessert. Before we hopped on the ferry back to Manhattan, we stopped by The Good Batch (love the name) tent to check out some ice cream sandwiches. We agreed to split the waffle cookie with cinnamon ice cream and carmel filling, and were not disappointed.

dw

The whole day was just really great. I loved that we got to spend some time outside, walk a few miles, eat some good food, and spend time together. Now that summer craziness and traveling is over, I’m excited for more weekends like this spend in the city.

1239946_10200687207170076_801167877_n

Leave a Reply

