Alternatives to Coffee

Coffee is my favorite. I look forward to it when I wake up, I crave it when I get to work, and I feel like I need it when the 2 o’clock hour comes around. I won’t go as far as to say I’m addicted to coffee- because when I’m on vacation or super busy and simply don’t have time to make or stop for my morning cup, I’m fine.  I’ll realize “Wow, I didn’t have any coffee today and I actually lived.”  That being said, it’s something I allow myself to enjoy because I try drink it in the healthiest way possible- basically black. I usually don’t add creamers or sugars – sometimes I’ll add a splash of almond or skim milk & a pinch of artificial sweetener (which I know is bad- but I say “fine in moderation”).

Even if I just convinced you that my love of coffee is normal and acceptable, I think we can all agree it would be healthier to mix in some other drink substitutes. Sometimes, it’s not even the caffeine I need, rather just the need for a good tasting beverage to distract me from snacking the afternoon away. I have been mixing in some other caffeinated and non-caffeinated drinks into my day over the past few weeks, and I’ve cut down my coffee intake substantially since.

drink-coffee-do-stupid-things-faster

Here are some of the alternatives that I turn to when I’m wanting something to warm me up, energize me, quench my thirst, or keep me busy so I don’t eat 45 girl scout cookies (it’s that time of year) instead.

1. Early Grey Tea + Honey: This one does have caffeine and is a good go-to sub for coffee. It’s better for you and although it doesn’t have a high caffeine content, it will give you a little boost.

2.  Water + Lemon + + Cucumber + Mint: This combo is delicious… simple as that. It makes a bunch drinking water easy and if you get it really cold, it will wake you up a little.

3. Water + Splash of Apple Juice + Splash of Apple Cider Vinegar + Agave + Cayenne + Cinnamon: I found this recipe on ToneItUp and often forget about it- but I’m trying to make it more of a staple. There are a lot of ingredients, but they are all ones that stay for a while so you can buy & have them all for a while. You’re supposed to drink this in the morning because it boosts your metabolism, give you a bit of an energy kick, and gets your body ready for the day.

4. Green Tea + Lemon: Low in caffeine, but it makes me feel good about myself. After drinking a cup of green tea, I can’t help but think “I just did something good for my body.”

5. Pomegranate Tea + Honey: This one craves my sweet tooth that often comes out after lunch. I sometimes add 1/2 packet of splenda for some extra sweetness.

6. Water + Coconut Water: I sometimes drink pure coconut water, but mixing it with water is easier to drink more quickly and hydrates me quickly.

1111

Have any other suggestions? Post them in the comments!

Leave a Reply

